My Weight in Books

I like using creative titles for my posts. Having such a pretty website makes me feel like I should incorporate a more sophisticated word choice.

And I think I really do have my weight in books checked out from various libraries in this town. Yesterday I checked out 10 books (some of them quite large) from the Knight library, all relating to 14th century costume. Most of them are strictly about English and/or French costume, but I also found a neat one with lots of pictures of Spanish clothing, and another from present-day Czech Republic.

Why am I doing all this research?

Short answer: It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Long answer:

I was talking to Barbara (my advisor), and trying to think of what I should do for my independant study credit. The other day she had brought up the idea of integrating all the things I’m doing right now – both in school and out. Barbara knows about my SCA hobby, and I think she had this in mind, since I had already started bringing that into some of my fibers projects.

So yesterday she suggested expanding my research that I’m doing on 14th century tapestries into other fibers-related subjects of the medieval ages that I’m already interested in. Also, she thought it would be a good idea for me to write a real research paper, and submit it to ARSTextrina to be reviewed for presentation at their international textile conference next September in Dublin. 0_0

I thought about it, and I realized there are some very good reasons I should take on such a research project. The biggest one being that, if I’m good enough, I could (in theory) be asked to give a presentation to textile professionals in Dublin next year. Also, since my grade transcript isn’t all that impressive, I could use such a research paper to help me get into grad school if I ever thought that would be a good idea.

But more important than that, really, is that I’m a senior that hasn’t had to do any research at all. This is a subject I’m really interested in, and I want to do this research anyway. Having a deadline will make me get it done, and I have professors here that will gladly review my work. It kind of feels like the sort of thing you should do before you graduate college, you know?

It’s going to be a lot of work, but I think I’ll get through it. (And if I bite off more than I can chew, I can always stay for winter term too…)

2 comments

  1. So, what I love most about this is that the rant immediately before this was titled: So Much To DO! And what is this rant about? It’s about how you’ve found another huge commitment to help you take up all that free time you have trouble filling. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, that being said, I think this is an awesome idea and I’ll totally help you out with whatever you need!

    -Kelly

  2. WHAT, you were my hope for the ultimate way of getting through college! πŸ™‚ I do enough research papers for the both of us Kimmy. sorry to post so late but that homework that keeps coming in. But, really you dashed my hopes of the ulitmate way to flot through college, but I know you were already doing it. Now, you are going to get credit for it, Damn. Well, got to go stupid classes. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

