Another Car Post

My car’s “broke” too. We came home from church this morning to find that one of my tires was flat. At first we tried to fix it (and found out that my carjack is bent out of shape…) and then we called AAA. The guy came out and changed the tire for me, which was very nice. But as Chris and Megan have also discovered, it is not nice to have car problems on a Sunday before a national holiday. 😦

So first thing I’ll do Tuesday morning is get the tire fixed (hopefully it just needs a patch). Then I’ll come back home and pack my stuff and pick up Matthew, I suppose. Somewhere in there I’ll acquire Kelly and then we’ll head south as well. (Good thing to do in winter if you ask me!) Matthew needs to get back to Santa Cruz and Kelly needs to hand deliver some papers in San Fracisco. So I’ll leave them there, stay the night, and then drive the rest of the way to Long Beach by myself.

By the way, I’M MOVING TO THE LA AREA. Apparently some of you missed that last time… 😉

Don’t ask for a lot of details unless you want me to make something up. All I’ve got so far is: find work, try to find work as a Costume Fairy (that’s not a technical term).

I’m flying back for my show opening at the LaVerne Krauss Gallery (that’s in Lawrence Hall at the U of O), which is Monday, Jan 8th, 5:00~7:00pm. I hope you can all come and see what I wove in Italy this summer! It’s not “my” show exclusively, (there will be other artists featured), but I’m not having my own senior show, so this is it!

4 comments

  1. Costume fairy is -so- a technical term. As is “woodge”. Ha!

  2. Annie – please explain “woodge”.

    Kim – good luck job hunting! I’m going to miss you lots!

  3. ‘woodge’-

    1-noun; having the nature of being malleable, bendable, loose-grained. A fabric that has ‘woodge’ , such as a rayon twill, can easily be shifted from the straight of grain to off-grain or even bias. And usually not when you want it to! Does make things nice and drapey though.

    2-verb; to shift off-grain or ease fabric deliberately, such as when putting together sleeve seams or off-grain seams that don’t fit directly on-grain. Tough to do sometimes, but when it works it perfects the fit.

    Was that any help?

  4. Yes – thanks!

Leave a Reply

