Textile Consultant

I answered a Craigslist ad today and I’ve somehow been hired as a Textile Consultant (that’s what I’m calling myself) for some Hollywood folk making an art project for Burning Man. It’s some sort of relaxation area involving a couch and some giant “leaves” to keep it shady. And I think it’s all made out of PVC pipes and cloth.

I only heard about this because it was forwarded to one of the local SCA lists because they were looking for a weaving tutor (which is why I applied). I’ve talked with the artists about it and I’m not sure that they really need a weaver, but they said they’d like me to come by and help them figure out what to do anyway (since I’m an expert and all… πŸ˜‰ )

I’m sure it’ll be good for some laughs, and apparently they have a bunch of cash they don’t need since they’re going to pay me for this. Though, I do have to sit in rush-hour traffic for probably the next hour…

5 comments

  1. Kinda short notice. Isn’t Burning Man next week?

    -= Chris

  2. Yeah, they were getting a bit desperate…

  3. I’m so glad you got the gig! It looked interesting!

  4. Eilidh, you lurker! πŸ˜‰

    Yeah, good thing somebody posted it to the list – I couldn’t find it on craigslist when I went looking for it!

  5. A cushy consultant job! My, you seem to be moving up in the world..

Leave a Reply

