“The Wand Chooses the Wizard”

In about 2 weeks I’m going to a rather elaborate Harry Potter party. We’ll wear costumes, play Quidditch, go to class (did I mention it’s at “Hogwarts”?), get sorted into houses, fight Dark Wizards – the whole deal! The costume part I can handle, but I didn’t have a wand. So, about 2 months ago I mentioned this to Uncle John (who happens to be a woodworker) and asked if he would “help me” make a wand. I mentioned how cool it would be to have something in the core of the wand, and we talked about some materials I might like, and I promptly forgot about it.

So, tonight he handed me this:

Wand

He also made me a Certificate of Authenticity that describes the properties of the wand and the significance of the materials used. I put a picture of it in the album, and I think it’s readable. You have to check it out – it’s absolutely amazing! I can’t believe Mom and Dad were in on it the whole time! (Crafty buggers…)

I can’t wait to show off my wand at school!

4 comments

  1. OMG *squee* !!!!

  2. I love the squirrel! Like the rest of your family, John is a mad genius at his chosen craft.

  3. THAT IS AMAZING!!!! ZOMG BEARZ! (Man, I need to go to sleep…)

  4. Awesome!

    Hope you’re sorted into my house. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

