Sailing With LAMI!

I went sailing again today! Here’s the link to LAMI’s website (TopSail Youth program) so I don’t have to explain it all.

This was my second sailing training day and my goal for this time was to go up in the rigging and help set sails – and I totally did it! And Patrick & Brenda brought a camera…

Going Aloft

Going Aloft

It was scary at times, but not as bad as I was expecting! I also went up again to help tie up the sails on the way back in (which I wasn’t expecting to have the strength left to do!) Go me!

So now I’m almost ready to go on trips with the kids groups – I just need to get fingerprinted and take a drug test. They have 3- and 5-day trips and some of the crew encouraged me to sign up to volunteer on a 5-day trip right away (which I was already contemplating…) I think it’ll be fun!

Here’s a few more pictures:

Just got down off the rigging! Triumph!

Just got down off the rigging! Triumph!

Brenda and I are big dorks!

Brenda and I are big dorks!

Patrick hauls on a line!

Patrick hauls on a line!

2 comments

  1. This is awesome! We need some sea chantys posthaste! Yarr!

  2. *sings*
    Father father our meeting is ended,
    Father we must part.
    And if I never see you anymore,
    I will love you in my heart.

    We will land on shore
    We will land on shore
    We will land on shore
    And be saved forever more.
    *stops singing*

Leave a Reply

