"Guilty Pleasures" by Laurell K. Hamilton

I got this book because it was availible for audio download from my public library.* I had a sewing project to finish, and I work most efficiently when I’ve got a book to listen to while I work.

Now, I enjoy a good (read: trashy) vampire book as much as the next girl, but I’d heard some snobs complain about these books. To that I say: you’re reading a book about sexy animated corpses, get over yourself. But to any unsuspecting readers out there who might be swayed by my opinions, I should give you fair warning: I have pretty low standards for romance novels. I get most of my reading material from the library and the 25¢ sale cart outside the library. This is not to say that I don’t read any high quality books, but I’ve read my share of random junk.

With that in mind…

I really enjoyed this book! And probably so did a lot of other people, or else she wouldn’t have gone on to write about 800 more Anita Blake novels. What I liked best about it was Anita herself – she gets the crap beat out of her and she’s short like me. (I’m shallow, I know.) Also, she has a really gross job and Hamilton doesn’t try to “clean” it up for us. She’s constantly covered in blood and corpses, because, guess what? She raises the dead for a living!

The world Hamilton has created is gritty and bloody and that fits very well with the characters and their activities. The supporting cast is less well developed than Anita, but who cares? They’re only there for Anita to slaughter and/or have sexy dreams about anyway!

*Downloading audiobooks from the public library is so full of win, it hurts. More on this later.

Leave a Reply

