Stealing Food is Bad But Stealing Recipes is Cool, Right?

I’ve been cooking lately! I’m trying to eat vegetables every day and since (apparently) the yellowish scrap of lettuce that I get from Jack in the Box doesn’t count as a serving of vegetables, this means I have to actually buy groceries and eat them at home if I want to accomplish that goal.

So, I’ve been cooking. If you circled me on Google+ you’ve seen my pictures from the past few weeks, but I thought I’d put some words together about my latest meal in here since I got the recipe from my friend Olivia who has an excellent blog with lots of pictures of beautiful food.

Here’s what I had tonight:

Roasted green beans and egg salad

I bought a small bag of green beans and have been working my way through them slowly and I knew I had to finish them up soon or they’d start to go bad. However, just cooking them in water in the microwave wasn’t exactly creating an amazing culinary experience. Then I remembered Olivia’s post a while back about a green bean snack that she’s fond of and I thought I’d give it a shot. I might burn the house down, but whatever.

In short, I put olive oil, salt and black pepper on some green beans and baked them in the toaster oven. For a proper description of this process, I’ll direct you to the green bean snack link in the previous paragraph.

Green beans prepped for cooking

Since half a small plate of green beans wasn’t enough for an entire meal, I rummaged through the fridge and found some eggs I’d hard boiled over the weekend. I whipped up a quick batch of egg salad and dinner was ready in about 20 minutes! It’s not a ton food, but the fibrousness of the green beans and the protein of the eggs turned out to be quite filling.

I’ve got good momentum going on this veggie-eating thing, and I’m going to try to stick with it – wish me luck!

I feel like I should include a recipe with this post, so here’s my recipe for egg salad:

Egg Salad

Hard boiled eggs

Mayonnaise (to taste)

Mustard (just a little)

Remove the shells from the eggs. Mash the eggs in a bowl, add mayonnaise and mustard. Mix well.

Since that’s a pretty lame “recipe”, here’s how I make perfect hard boiled eggs:

Use fresh eggs. Make sure there is plenty of water in the pot (the eggs should be able to move around a little). Put the eggs in the water while it’s cold, then bring the water to a boil (don’t throw eggs into already-boiling water). Use med/med-hi heat (don’t boil it As Fast As Possible). After it boils, turn down the temperature as low as you can and still have bubbles. Cook for 9 minutes. Drain the hot water out of the pot, then put it in the sink and fill it with cold tap water. Let the water run a bit because the eggs will heat the water at first. Let sit until cool enough to handle, then put the eggs in the fridge.

My hard boiled eggs always come out easy to peel with the yoke cooked all the way through, but with hardly any grey (or none at all!) Oh! It’s probably important to know that I always use AA Large chicken eggs (not “jumbo”). The size and breed of egg would, of course, affect things.

Mmmm eggs…

Oh, and I have another blog where I talk about books I read and I’m going to try to get back into posting there too. If you like books and not-very-thorough book reviews, you should check it out! 🙂

One comment

  1. Mmmmm i love a good egg salad :). If you are trying to eat more veggies I will bring in a ‘juice meal’. Val and I have been juicing for a while and it has made a noticeable difference in the way we feel. Despite the kryptonite green look, it tastes good! So Wednesday, you game?

Leave a Reply

