Crock Pot Chicken Curry

Mmmmm curry!

Over the summer Kelly and I tried an experiment: crock pot curry. It came out really good and I wanted to try it again, but this time I wanted to do Japanese style curry. Last time we used a jar of Thai style coconut curry mix to start with. Since I’m still just as lazy, and the stuff from the box is so good, I went with “Golden Curry sauce mix” (available at most major grocery stores.)

I’ve eaten a lot of this kind of curry, so I knew I’d like it. I’ve made it a few times before (following the instructions on the box), but it always takes so long and I’m usually too impatient to wait till 8:00 for dinner. So I thought I’d give it a try in the crock pot to see if I could cut down on the time spent at the stove.

It kinda looks like a frowny face.

I decided to go with the most typical vegetables for Japanese style curry: russet potatoes, carrots and onions. Normally I prefer beef* in my curry, but I wanted to use something I already had in the freezer.

*That’s how my Host Mom always made it. Kare raisu was my favorite meal, so she made it a lot.

Here’s the recipe:

Crock Pot Chicken Curry (Japanese Style)

Curry sauce in a box!

1 lb. meat (in this case, chicken)
1 large russet potato
2 med. Sized carrots
½ yellow onion
1 package Golden Curry sauce mix
3 c. water
White rice (optional)

Night before:

Sear the meat in a hot skillet until it’s browned on both sides. Peel & chop the potatoes, carrots and onions into bite-sized pieces. Put all the veggies into the crock pot. (If the bowl of your crock pot isn’t removable, put ingredients in another bowl that will fit in your fridge.) Put the meat on top of the veggies and add the water. Break apart the curry mix cubes and add them to the mixture. Cover the bowl and put it in the refrigerator.

Mostly raw meat and seasoned lard cubes – yum!

Morning of:

Put the bowl in the crock pot and set to “low”.

Evening of:

Cook the rice. I used 1.5 cups uncooked and it was about right for 4 lunch-size servings. I would have used my rice cooker but the lid broke in my last move and I still haven’t replaced it.

In my recipe, I used a chicken thigh that was more like half a chicken so I needed to take the meat out and remove the bones. This was really hard (and I burnt my fingers a little) so I don’t plan on cooking anything with bones again. I also

Chickens have far too many ribs…. in their “thighs”, apparently.

shredded the meat and put it back in the pot. Then I stirred it up and found more bones. Again, yuck, don’t use bones unless you’re better at it than me. I suppose you could cook a big chunk of beef and then cut it up and put it back in, but I think I’d just cut it into cubes when it’s raw and not have to take ‘em out later.

Stir up the mixture so it’s all mixed together. Serve over rice. Itadakimasu!

Quite tasty! (Except for the bones…)

One comment

  1. hey hi i’m trying this tomorrow! thanks for posting it! 😀 i added peas and i’m using boneless chicken breasts so shhh relax it’s okay no bones shhhh

Leave a Reply

