"Surviving Passion" by Maia Underwood

Why is she groping his chest? He’s got knives!!

So, this was free.

I checked it out on my Kindle with Amazon Prime. And, actually, it was better than some books I’ve paid for. I’m really glad the Kindle version didn’t have the cover art, though, or I never would have picked it.

TL;DR – I liked this book! I’d give it a 6 out of 10. Maybe a 7, but you gotta be in the mood for it.

It wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. I was looking for a post-apocalyptic romance novel, and while this was technically that, it wasn’t really the setting I was looking for. The world in this book has gone through a rapid loss of electricity (called “The Crash”) and society has quickly degenerated to every-man-for-himself. People have split up into small groups that live off of whatever they can find. Sounds cool, right?

MILD SPOILERS FROM HERE ON.

So I was expecting something more futuristic, but this story was basically a western. Our heroine finds herself in the outskirts of B.F. Nowhere (Arizona?) where she is abducted and taken to live on a hidden farm in a nearby crater. A crater? Really? I guess they have those in Arizona? Anyway, she’s upset at first but quickly discovers that it’s a farm of honest, good-plain-folk who happen to have a lot of farming/hunting/gathering skills for a bunch of  former city people.

What I liked about this book was the character development. Most of the characters felt like real people, and I cared what happened to them.

What I didn’t like about this book was the fact that it was essentially a western. You could change the date it took place from the near future to the near past and not need to change much of anything. What I want from a post-apocalyptic story is more of the science-y, futuristic sci-fi stuff! Re-engineering cars into hydroponics labs. Making fortresses out of grade schools. Mutants!

Ah, well. My search for awesome post-apocalyptic romance novels continues.

Leave a Reply

