"Space Junque – A Dystopian Fantasy" by LK Rigel

Space Junque by LK Rigel

“Space Junque” is a dystopian near-future sci-fi novella about love, life and nuclear apocalypse. I thought the world Rigel created was very interesting – her vision of the future seems realistic and she used just enough techno-babble to be convincing. I liked her characters but felt like they weren’t fully developed (probably because the story was so short.) Rigel’s writing didn’t always flow smoothly, however. Several times I had to go back and re-read a section because the scene jumped so suddenly that it didn’t make sense. I had to fill in some gaps with my imagination. The story ended rather suddenly, too. I know that there are other parts that come after this, but I still felt like it ended in a strange place.

Despite all that, it kept my attention and I went through it pretty quickly. It’s definitely worth the price ($0.00 on Kindle!)

Leave a Reply

