Turning Over a New Leek

Leeks

I’m going to eat nothing but leeks and leek broth for the next 2 days.

I think this is one of those “cleanse” thingies that the kids are doing these days, though it feels an awful lot like a fast to me. I suppose technically you’re not allowed to eat any solid food when you’re fasting, so I guess this is better!

Why am I doing this? Well, recently I tried to put on some pants I used to wear frequently less than a year ago and they didn’t fit at all. It was at that point I could no longer ignore the fact that I’d put on about 15 lbs in the past year or so. And I’m pretty sure 10 of those pounds came on in the last 6 months. Rather than buy all new clothes I have decided to lose some weight.

So why leeks? Basically, I’m impulsive. Kelly told me she wanted to try this woman’s 2-day leek soup thingy and I said “that sounds neat, sign me up!” (or something of that nature.) It’s supposed to sort of “reset” your digestion and get you ready to eat reasonable healthy meals. Or something. I haven’t read the book yet.

So tonight I boiled a big-ass pot of leeks which will be my only source of food until dinner Thursday night. I expect this is going to be really hard, but I’ll certainly live through it. It’s only 2 days, so I’m not worried about damaging my body or anything.

I’m already getting really strong reactions from people on Facebook about this – I think it’s going to be quite the experiment!

4 comments

  1. cjbrunner · · Reply

    But what about drinking tomorrow night?

  2. You’ll just have to use your imagination. I know I will.

  3. I am curious to see how it goes – good luck! (You may never have leek again…?)

  4. May I share my observations? If you like the veggies, enjoy them. If you don’t like them, find veggies you DO like. That matters (to me) FAR more than “the latest cleanse/craze” suggestions. Real food, “normal” portions, increased activity –> and ONLY keep pursuing things you love. If I don’t wanna do situps, I’ll do bellydance torso crunches instead (same muscles, more enjoyable activity). Guess what? You can see my upper obliques starting to appear. Shocking, I know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

