“Artemis Fowl” by Eoin Colfer

I read this via audiobook which I really recommend because the reader is excellent.

I am willing to put money on this series being made into movies. The books are popular, the characters are unique and there’s pretty much nonstop action and comedy, with a little drama thrown in.

In this book Artemis Fowl II is a twelve-year-old criminal mastermind. He comes from a long line of criminals but Artemis’ particular brand of crime involves fairies. Yup, fairies. His big convoluted plan basically boils down to: steal gold from leprechauns. Once I got over how silly that sounds I really enjoyed this book!

The author has created a unique world where fairies (leprechauns, sprites, dwarves, etc) live underground and are actually way more technologically advanced than humans.  And these fairies aren’t just humanoids with pointy ears – they each have really unique attributes and skills that come in handy during all the adventures they get in. Despite the somewhat excessive use of flatulence by the dwarf, I thought this take on mythical creatures was really creative and new. The only thing that kind of bugs me is that the bad guys are all REALLY stupid. But it’s a tween book so I forgive them. 🙂

I enjoyed this book very much and have been plowing through the series!

Leave a Reply

